top of page


Evolution! Mallorca International Film Festival 2016

took place November 3rd-12th, 2017. Our Opening Night was held at the magical Teatro Principal with our guest of honor Danny DeVito, whom received the Evolution Honorary Award. The festival program featured over 80 films, documentaries, music videos and films for kids from 24 countries. Screenings where held at 3 different locations; Cineciutat, Es Baluard and our very special Drive in Cinema at Port Adriano. In addition to film screenings and special premiers, EMIFF offered many networking event, a movie show cooking, professional talk panels (Producers Club), a Casting Directors workshop and a VR lounge presented by TheVrand. We welcomed over 2700 festival guests and over 50 international guests, making the 6th edition one to remember!



Danny Devito revceives the Evolution Honorary award at Opening Night Gala, 2016.

Full Opera House in Palma de Mallorca for the Opening Gala, 2016.

Sold out movie at CineCiutat in Palma, 2016.

EMIFF Festival staff during opening night, 2016.

Danny DeVito with press in Mallorca.

Danny enjoying EMIFF

Danny enjoying EMIFF

Filmmakers on the red carpet.

Professional Talk panel at the Producers Club, 2016

Closing night, Afterparty

Heidi Stadler, Silver Sponsor First Mallorca with Festival Director Sandra Seeling.

Evolution VR lounge presented by TheVrand.

Opening Night at Teatro Principal, 2016.

Evolution Steering committee

Evolution Steering committee

Baleares Politicians

Baleares Politicians

President of the Balearic islands Francina Armengol, Mayor of Palma Jose ila, Cultural counselor Esperanza Camps and Counselor of economics and finance Cosme Bonet

Show Cooking

Show Cooking

With Marc Fosh at Mercado San Juan

Cafe con Cine

Cafe con Cine

At Rialto Living, Palma

Winners 2016

Best Feature Film Anna's Life by director Nino Basilia from Georgia

Best Actress Feature Film Lilith Stangenberg in the movie WILD by Nicolette Krebitz

Best Actor Feature Film Tarek Halaby in the movie Problemski Hotel by Manu Riche

Best Feature Documentary The Key to Dali by Mallorquin director David Fernández

Best Short Film Breath by Italian directors Andrea Brusa and Marco Scotuzzi

Best Actress Short Film Laura Tonke in the shortfilm The Beach by Nele Müller-Stöfen

Best Actor Short Film David Margulies in the short film Curmudgeons by Danny DeVito

Best Short Documentary My Aleppo by filmmakers Melissa Langer

Best Made In Baleares Short Film Chat Vol Dir Moix by Mallorquin director Jaume Carillo

Best Music Video Queen of failureland by Diego Gavioli

Best Experimental Short Film The Emily and Ariel Show by Emily and Ariel

Evolutionary Island Award Dusky Paradise by writer director Gregory Kirchhoff

Evolution Honorary Award Danny DeVito

Jury 2016

Florian Gottschick (writer/director Germany) – Feature Film

Toni Bestard (producer/writer/director Spain) – Short Film

Arancha Marchi (actress Spain)– Short Film

Line Hadsjberg (producer Denmark) – Doc Feature and Short Film

Pep Bonet (director/producer Spain) – Doc Feature and Short Film

Maria Calafat (producer Spain) “Made in Baleares”

bottom of page